An open letter to YOU.

This week I wanted to write a post and dedicate it to my friends and family back at home. I realize that reading all my past posts and listening to me talk about how I want to stay thousands of miles of away from you for an undetermined amount of time is unsettling (yes, I’ve decided I want to stay more than a year). Sometimes I talk and I don’t consider how my loved ones will feel about my decisions, so this is a letter to them. To the ones who keep up with me, the ones who change their plans to Skype me at any time during their day and most of all to the ones who love me from thousands of miles away.

Dear Loved Ones,

It’s impossible to put into words the capacity of love that you take up in my heart. I don’t say it all the time and I don’t think that just this will do it justice, but I wanted to take a minute and say thank you.

Thank you for all the times I called you crying because I didn’t know what to do. For listening to my insecurities and doubts and knowing the difference between a shoulder to cry on and asking for advice.

Thank you for the memories that you gave me all those years growing up. More times than not, I find myself remembering a funny moment and laughing just as hard as I did when we were living them. They are memories you created and ones that we will share forever.

Thank you for going along with my weird ideas. For letting me explain my radical dreams and supporting them even if it meant I wouldn’t see you as much as either of us would like. I know I’ve caused you tears, but thank you for loving me and letting me live my life.

Thank you for changing your plans, waking up early or staying up late just to talk to me and keep up with my life. For all the times that you stuck with me when the Wifi cut in and out mid-conversation and even though it probably would’ve been easier to call it quits, you stayed and tried anyway.

Thank you for pushing the limits. Traveling state lines and even oceans just to see me just for a week or even a weekend. Actions always speak louder than words and your actions make me feel cherished.

Thank you for your patience. It seems in life that we all come running for advice and conversation when there is trouble, but not always when things are going well. Thank you for waiting for my positive stories and sharing the joy of their greatness even though you weren’t there to experience them first hand.

But above all the “thanks” that I have for you…thank you most of all for being you. Thank you for not letting the distance fade the memories and damage our friendship.

Thank you for picking up where we left off almost as if no time had passed at all.

Cheers to you best friends and family who make my life one that I love.

Abrazos,

Makenna

 

Leave a Reply

