“Happiness can be found even in the darkest of times, if one only remembers to turn on the light”

 

It’s almost been two weeks since my last post and as much as I wanted to keep up with my posts every week, I needed a week off. I needed a week to try to process everything that has been going on and even as I sit, trying to write, I am struggling! So a disclaimer to my readers who keep up with me, it might be a bumpy ride.

To start I want to say that two weeks ago I thought my world was ending. *If you were not aware already, I tend to err on the side of dramatic* but also, I pride myself on trying to always find the silver lining. “No hay mal que por bien no venga” has been my life motto ever since I learned it in Spanish and I have been trying to stick to it. But, two weeks ago, when the United States took a turn that I wasn’t expecting, I faltered.

Unfortunately, I cannot sit and confidently write a post that will encapsulate all my opinions about the election, nor do I believe I have a right to. I have not kept up with politics over the years and I am unable to say I fit with one side or the other. But regardless…my heart still hurts for all the pain and confusion that is going on in the states and I know what is right and wrong. As a woman, as sister of a black brother, as a member of a progressive family, and as a decent human being, I am scared for what the future holds too.

But even as my eyes watered as my brother texted me how truly horrible things could turn out to be, this quote kept running through my head.

“Happiness can be found even in the darkest of times, if one only remembers to turn on the light.”

Now, I know I have several friends who will roll their eyes, especially since the quote originates from Harry Potter (my favorite books of all time #basicbitch). Quotes have always been something I rely on and I have zero shame admitting it. ANYWAY, I kept thinking about this quote. I kept thinking as everyone talked about his or her outrage, about how awful the world is going to be for the next four years…I could not stop thinking that it could not be true.

Right now in the world big things are happening. Scary things. Dangerous things. There is so much changing and people are scared for the future, we have never been where we are today. However, as I have been reading and freaking out, I have also been thinking. The truth is we all spend our entire lives trying to chase the future, but we will never truly understand the future. As terrifying as that is, as much pain that will happen during that time, with every part of my body, I have faith that there will be happiness.

I have faith because over the course of my short twenty-three years, I have met a lot of people. I have come across a lot of bad people, malicious, selfish and terrible people (working in public schools, you meet some people)…but for every awful person I have met, I have met at least one wonderful person (when you work in public schools, you meet unsung amazing heroes as well!) I believe in the people that I have met. I believe in change and I believe that there will always be happiness if you look hard enough.

The point is, I believe in the good of people. I am well aware that there are people who enjoy suffering, whose hearts are so saturated with hate it is practically spewing from their pores. But I am also aware that there are people who love unconditionally, people who fight for what is right relentlessly, and people who breathe happiness into the darkest of souls.

What I want people to know is that sometimes the world feels like it is crashing down around you, it feels like your lungs are collapsing and your head might explode from the terror (holla drama!) but remember there are good people in this world. The moment we forget that, accept defeat, and give into the fear, is the moment we loose everything worth fighting for. The point is, surround yourself with good people, laugh when it seems impossible and push for what is right…as difficult and impossible as that sounds.

Phew. I don’t know all the answers and I will never say that I do, but I refuse to believe the world is ending and that THIS is the end. So I leave you with another quote, one of my favorites, one that centers me every time I read it:

“Attract what you expect, reflect what you desire, become what you respect, mirror what you admire”

Be the positive. Be the light. Be the happy…the world has enough fools…and I promise you the world will be a better place.

 

Besos,

 

Makenna

Leave a Reply

