Seven people, Seven cities…Only One Spanish Police Encounter

Happy 2 0 1 7 everyone! We made it through the year. To some this year brought a ton of heartache, to some it brought big change, to some it brought loads of happiness (ahem, yo!) and to some it was just another year. Whatever your sentiments, the fact is we are starting another one and in my eyes, it is full of promise.

The last two weeks I haven’t been able to post due to my crazy family running me around all over Spain as their translator. However, watching them load the shuttle to airport was not one of those moments I will want to replay in my head over and over again, (it sucked to say goodbye #inthefeelstoday)

We truly had a fabulous time together! That’s not, of course, to say that the whole trip was smooth…there were seven of us, three of us spoke Spanish relatively well, we rented a car, we went to six different cities, we ate a ton of food and drank way too much…did I mention we drank too much? Anyway, it was eventful, fun, and much needed. I have always been close to my family and I was so happy to be able to show them my new home. UPDATE: The parents love Logroño ❤

During our trip, we were ambitious travelers and might have packed a bit much into ten days. The trip staimg_0625rted off with my parents being delayed in London…twice. Then after making it to Madrid, having the chaos of trying to rent a car and also driving at night in a foreign country…through the mountains…AND they ended up getting pulled over on their way! As my poor father tried to ramble on in English, my little brother’s girlfriend held up her American Passport and said “AMERICAN.” After realizing that my family was not in fact smuggling drugs, the kind police officer let them go.

You would think after such an adventurous ida that everyone would want to relax. Wrong. The following week included Haro, more Logroño, Pamplona, Sevilla, Ronda, Granada, and Marbella. All of this in a big white scary looking van. Like I said, ambitious.

We were exhausted, but we did it together and we definitely had our fair share of laughs along the way. The crowd favorites from the trip were: Logroño (the “groin” as my mom likes to call it now) Sevilla, and Ronda. And I have to admit those were my favorite as well!

Yes, going back to Sevilla was extremely surreal. It had been almost three years since I had been back and I don’t think there will ever be enough days spent exploring that city (let alone the six hours that we had). It was magical and reminded me of why I fell in love with Spain. ❤

Overall it was a happy holiday break filled with lots of beautiful cities, crazy stories and lots of laughs…but most importantly it was filled with my family.

I am wishing and hoping everyone the best of 2017, forget the New Year’s resolutions, embrace what is coming, and make it the best!

Abrazos,

Makenna
img_0961

Leave a Reply

